This site is Gunny Approved

Author Topic: New member from Illinois  (Read 4936 times)

writer78

New member from Illinois
« on: August 15, 2007, 07:34:13 PM »
hi all,

I'm a 29 year old Chicago area woman, new to the forum.  I found this forum via the Reenactor Fest section, from a link on the Reenactor Fest site.

I've been attending renaissance faires as a playtron since 2002.  I also attend Civil War reenactments, just as an audience member, when I can.  2005 was my "Summer of War," when I went to as many as I could; I got a littled warred-out for a while after that, but now I'm getting interested again.  I've been to a couple rev war events - once as a guest reenactor, thanks to some neat folks who I met at Reenactor Fest - and I went to my first WWII event this summer.

I am a writer, and I'm currently rewriting the first draft of a novel about a renaissance faire.  I am constantly in search of fiction about reenactors - I've read Meet John Trow, Last of the Dixie Heroes, a few CW murder mysteries, even a Buffy novel set in part at a ren faire. 

I'm also interested in portrayals of reenactors in TV and film - I recently watched Battle of Shaker Heights and an episode of Psych set at a CW reenactment.

Anyone who knows of fiction, TV episodes, or movies about reenactors, please let me know!  I'm fascinated by how we're portrayed in stories, and I want to create new novels and short stories about us.  I get frustrated when we're relegated to being a colorful background for a murder mystery or the jumping off point for fantasy and sci fi, and of course it's worst when we're portrayed as weird or reenacting is portrayed as wrong or unhealthy.

I'm looking forward to learning more about all of you and finding new opportunities to get into other types of reenacting.

Offline Antonescu

• Reenactor
  • "Soldiers, cross the River Prut"
    • WWII Living History Association
Re: New member from Illinois
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 08:59:25 PM »