This site is Gunny Approved

Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 5816 times)

Offline Edelweiss

• Boot
Newbie here
« on: February 19, 2009, 04:39:24 PM »
Hello all,
I am considering getting into reenacting, most likely WWII.  I am wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of where I can read up on how reenactments are run, or if you could just provide an example based on personal experience.  I read on the front page: "How do you know who wins or who dies?" Some battles are scripted out as to the end, some are called "tacticals" and may have judges or rules as to what happens.  And that was honestly my main question, how do you know when you're dead or when you've "killed" someone.  Do the Germans start on one side and the GI's on the other for example, or are people placed in strategic locations for a given scenario?

Thanks ;D

Offline Antonescu

• Reenactor
  • "Soldiers, cross the River Prut"
    • WWII Living History Association
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2009, 10:19:38 AM »
Hello all,
I am considering getting into reenacting, most likely WWII.  I am wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of where I can read up on how reenactments are run, or if you could just provide an example based on personal experience.  I read on the front page: "How do you know who wins or who dies?" Some battles are scripted out as to the end, some are called "tacticals" and may have judges or rules as to what happens.  And that was honestly my main question, how do you know when you're dead or when you've "killed" someone.  Do the Germans start on one side and the GI's on the other for example, or are people placed in strategic locations for a given scenario?

Thanks ;D